Entry in 6th grade

Welcome to middle school !

The 6th grade , which concludes cycle 3 (CM1-CM2-6e ), is a pivotal year which requires different adjustments depending on the student’s profile. The aim of the teaching team is to allow for a smooth transition to meet middle school expectations.

An enriched initial curriculum

Whilst Eurécole College strictly follows the National French education program, weekly program for  6th grade has been enriched, as follows:

Focus on languages

 Support classes

Focus on general knowledge 

  • 45mn of Humanities (Classical studies and Mythology, initiation to Latin and Ancient Greek, and History of Religion)

Class Life and Methodology

The weekly school life class time (45mn) with the main teacher will focus on::

  • Individual organisation and methodology (homework management and use of the Pronote :  online homework software, organisation of their locker, management of the various notebooks, neatness  and writing).
  • The community life issues (agreement between students, conflict management, joint projects, organisation of outings, proposals for the Student Council, etc.) in collaboration with class representatives and alternate class representatives.
  • The Prevention issues  (harassment, use of social networks, health, road safety, etc.) led by various participants of middle school life and with specific annual interventions by the 8th district Police Prevention Organisation. 

Sponsorships

The welcoming of the youngest pupil is essential. The arrival in a new establishment, where the former pupils of CM2 become “the youngest”, can cause anxiety at the start of the school year.

As soon as they arrive, we place  emphasis on guidance from older pupils and the practice of joint activities with other age groups to help them take their first steps as middle school students  in a warm and family-like atmosphere conducive to the development of each student.

Entrée en 6ème

Bienvenue au collège !

L’année de la 6e, qui clôt le cycle 3 (CM1-CM2-6e) est une année charnière qui demande un temps d’adaptation différent suivant le profil de l’élève. L’objectif de l’équipe pédagogique est de permettre une transition en douceur vers les attendus du collège.

Un cursus initial enrichi

Si le collège Eurécole suit strictement le programme de tronc commun de l’Éducation nationale, le parcours hebdomadaire de 6e a été enrichi :

Cap sur les langues

  • 6h d’anglais (au lieu de 4h dans le Public)
  • 3h d’espagnol ou d’allemand LV2 (ne démarre qu’en 5e dans le Public)
  • 2h de chinois mandarin LV3 (optionnel)
  • jusqu’à 2h de français langue étrangère pour les élèves en cursus immersif

Consolidation des fondamentaux

Cap sur la culture générale

  • 45mn d’Humanités (modules de Culture antique et Mythologie, d’initiation au Latin et au Grec ancien, et d’Histoire des Religions)

Vie de classe et Méthodologie

Le temps hebdomadaire de Vie de classe (45mn) avec le professeur principal mettra l’accent sur:

  • L’organisation individuelle et la méthodologie (gestion des devoirs et utilisation du logiciel de devoirs en ligne Pronote, organisation de son casier, gestion des différents cahiers, soin et graphie de qualité).
  • Les questions de vie collective (entente entre les élèves, gestion des conflits, projets communs, organisation de sorties, propositions pour le Bureau des élèves, etc.) en collaboration avec les délégués et les sous-délégués de classe.
  • Les questions de Prévention (harcèlement, utilisation des réseaux sociaux, nutrition, sécurité routière, etc.) animées par différents acteurs de la vie du collège et avec une intervention annuelle spécifique de la Mission de Prévention de la Police du 8e arrondissement.

Parrainages

L’accueil des plus jeunes est primordial. L’arrivée dans un nouvel établissement, où l’ancien élève de CM2 redevient « le plus petit », peut être source d’angoisse à la rentrée.

Nous mettons l’accent dès leur arrivée sur les parrainages avec des élèves plus âgés et la pratique d’activités en commun avec les autres classes d’âge afin de les aider à faire leurs premiers pas de collégiens dans une atmosphère accueillante et familiale propice à l’épanouissement de chacun.