Student Council

Learning about democracy

The role of class representatives

We take very seriously the role of class representatives, who are active participants  in the school life of the establishment. Each class will elect two class representatives and two alternate class representatives.

At the end of September, when the students know each other well enough, election campaign week is organised within each class. Each candidate student submits their ideas for future events and to better school life, in a French or English speech to convince all of their French-speaking and English-speaking classmates.

The class representatives and their alternates participate actively in the weekly school life sessions (45mn) in the presence of the main teacher. They are the privileged spokespeople who exchange with the Management and the Educational team. Within each exchange, they take into account the diversity of opinions and sensitivity of each student.

The role of the Student Council (BDE – Bureau des élèves)

This body of students , composed of a President, a Vice-President, a secretary and a treasurer elected by all the students of the establishment, is renewed annually in October at the end of the integration trip. Candidate students prepare a campaign in French and English, inclusive to all age groups with annual projects and the main guidelines, presented during a great speaking presentation to all of the school’s students.

Within this association made up exclusively of students, young people learn to be active participants in their daily life at school . The BDE (school council) allows them to have practical learning of democratic functioning (meetings, debates, respect for an opposing opinion).

Meetings take place two times a month Thursdays during the midday break. The class representatives  of each class participate in the meetings to bring up the requests of their class group. These meetings are open to all middle school students – for those who want to volunteer – from 6th grade to 9th grade. Debates are held in French and English in order for all students in the school to express themselves. The administrative assistant acts as a mediator and accompanies the students in coordinating their actions.

Organised activities and events

The BDE manages and organises some of the school’s events and parties. Students learn to set up projects, to calculate their costs, and organise and animate events in order to raise funds allowing them to finance their future projects and events.

In addition to the festive events, the BDE participates in the organisation of the college’s educational events and is also a driving force in the organisation of humanitarian or environmental protection campaigns(recycling and energy saving) in order to raise awareness among all of their classmates of current and future challenges.

Festive events :

  • Halloween
  • Christmas
  • Galette des rois
  • Friendship Day
  • Carnival

Participation in the organisation:

  • Guidance from student from the year above
  • Integration trip
  • Trips abroad
  • End of year outing
  • End of year prom
  • Graduation ceremony
  • Linguistic Certification Ceremony

Humanitarian projects:

  • Collection of hygiene products for Ukrainian refugees
  • Collecting toys (Green Santa Clauses from the Secours Populaire)
  • Collecting school supplies for Gunsa middle school (for Nepal)
  • Collecting school books and dictionaries (for the Philippines)

Bureau des Élèves

Apprentissage de la démocratie

Le rôle des délégués de classe

Nous prenons très au sérieux le rôle des délégués de classe, qui sont des acteurs à part entière de la vie de l’établissement. Chaque classe va élire deux délégués et deux délégués suppléants.

A la fin du mois de septembre, lorsque les élèves se connaissant suffisamment, est organisée la semaine de campagne des élections au sein de chaque classe. Chaque élève candidat va mettre en avant ses propositions pour la classe, et préparer un discours bilingue français-anglais pour convaincre l’ensemble de ses camarades francophones et anglophones.

Les délégués et leurs suppléants participent activement aux séances hebdomadaires de Vie de classe (45mn) en présence du professeur principal. Ils sont des interlocuteurs privilégiés pour échanger avec la Direction et l’équipe pédagogique et ils veillent à faire vivre leur classe en prenant en compte la diversité des avis et des sensibilités.

Le rôle du Bureau des Élèves (BDE)

Cet organe, composé d’un(e) Président(e), d’un(e)Vice-président(e), d’un(e) secrétaire, d’un(e) trésorier(e) élus par l’ensemble des élèves de l’établissement, est renouvelé annuellement au mois d’octobre à l’issue du voyage d’intégration. Les élèves candidats préparent une campagne en français et en anglais à destination de l’ensemble des classes d’âge avec des projets annuels et des grandes lignes directrices, qui seront présentés lors d’un grand oral devant l’ensemble des élèves de l’établissement.

Au sein de cette association exclusivement composée d’élèves, les jeunes apprennent à être acteurs de leur vie quotidienne au collège. Le BDE leur permet de faire un apprentissage empirique du fonctionnement démocratique (réunions, débats, respect d’une opinion contraire).

Les réunions sont bimensuelles et ont lieu le jeudi durant la pause méridienne. Les délégués de chaque classe participent automatiquement aux réunions pour faire remonter les demandes de leur groupe classe. Ces réunions sont ouvertes à tous les élèves du collège sur la base du volontariat, de la 6e à la 3e. Les débats se font en français et en anglais afin que l’ensemble des élèves de l’établissement puissent s’exprimer. L’adjointe à la direction fait office de médiatrice et accompagne les élèves dans la coordination de leurs actions.

Activités et évènements organisés

Le BDE gère et organise une partie des évènements et des fêtes de l’établissement. Les élèves apprennent à mettre en place des projets, à calculer leurs coûts, et organisent et animent des évènements afin de récolter des fonds leur permettant de financer leurs actions et leurs projets.
Au-delà des évènements festifs, le BDE participe à l’organisation des évènements pédagogiques du collège et est également moteur dans l’organisation de campagnes à but humanitaire ou tournés vers la protection de l’environnement (tri des déchets, économie d’énergie, gaspillage) afin de sensibiliser l’ensemble de leurs camarades aux défis actuels et à venir.

Évènements festifs :

  • Halloween
  • Fête de Noël
  • Galette des rois
  • Fête de l’Amitié
  • Carnaval

Participation à l’organisation:

  • Parrainage des élèves de 6e
  • Voyage d’intégration
  • Sorties culturelles
  • Voyages à l’étranger
  • Sortie de fin d’année
  • Prom’ball de fin d’année
  • Cérémonie de remise des diplômes
  • Cérémonie de remise des Certifications linguistiques

Projets humanitaires:

  • Collecte de produits d’hygiène pour les réfugiés Ukrainiens
  • Collecte de jouets (Pères Noël verts du Secours Populaire)
  • Collecte de fournitures scolaires pour le collège de Gunsa (Népal)
  • Collecte de livres scolaires et de dictionnaires (Philippines)